Ekadashi Vrat

is considered as one of the most significant vrat in the Hindu Calendar which is observed on a large scale by the Hindu Community. ‘Ekadashi’ has been inferred from the Sanskrit language which means ‘Eleven’. It occurs on the 11th day of every fortnight in the Hindu Lunar Calendar. There are two Ekadashis falling every month, namely Shukla Paksha (falling during the waxing phase of the moon) and Krishna Paksha (falling during the waning phase of the moon). You can check the Ekadashi dates 2017 and all the relevant information here. In the Hindu community, a strict vrat is observed on this day as per the Hindu scriptures.The vrat is observed from the sunset on the day before Ekadashi until sunrise on the day after Ekadashi, so the vrat last for 48 hours in total.

Importance of Ekadashi / Significance of Ekadashi

Ekadashi is also termed as “Hari Vasara” and “Hari din” as mentioned in the Hindu Puranas. The occasion of Ekadashi is observed by both Vaishnavas and Non-Vaishnavas community. The importance of Ekadashi Vrata is even mentioned in the Skanda Purana and Padma Purana. All the devotees who keep this fast do not eat cereals, wheat, spices and certain vegetables. The devotees start preparing for the vrata on Dashami which falls on the day before Ekadashi. A ritual bath is taken by the devotees on Dashmi early in the morning before preparing for the vrat. On this day, only one meal is consumed by the devotees in the whole day in which salt is avoided.

List of Ekadashi Vrat Dates In 2018

12 January (Friday) Shattila Ekadashi(K) Shattila Ekadashi(K)
28 January (Sunday) Pausha Putrada Ekadashi(S) Pausha Putrada Ekadashi(S)
11 February (Sunday) Vijaya Ekadashi(K) Vijaya Ekadashi(K)
26 February (Monday) Jaya Ekadashi(S) Jaya Ekadashi(S)
13 March (Tuesday) Papmochani Ekadashi(K) Papmochani Ekadashi(K)
27 March (Tuesday) Amalaki Ekadashi(S) Amalaki Ekadashi(S)
12 April (Thursday) Varuthini Ekadashi(K) Varuthini Ekadashi(K)
26 April (Thursday) Kamada Ekadashi(S) Kamada Ekadashi(S)
11 May (Friday) Apara Ekadashi(K) Apara Ekadashi(K)
25 May (Friday) Mohini Ekadashi(S) Mohini Ekadashi(S)
10 June (Sunday) Apara Ekadashi(K Apara Ekadashi(K
23 June (Saturday) Nirjala Ekadashi(S) Nirjala Ekadashi(S)
09 July (Monday) Yogini Ekadashi(K) Yogini Ekadashi(K)
23 July (Monday) Nirjala Ekadashi(S) Nirjala Ekadashi(S)
07 August (Tuesday) Vaishnava Kamika Ekadashi(K) Vaishnava Kamika Ekadashi(K)
21 August (Tuesday) Devshayani Ekadashi(S) Devshayani Ekadashi(S)
22 August (Wednesday) Devshayani Ekadashi(S) Devshayani Ekadashi(S)
06 September (Thursday) Aja Ekadashi(K) Aja Ekadashi(K)
20 September (Thursday) Shravana Putrada Ekadashi(S) Shravana Putrada Ekadashi(S)
05 October (Friday) Indira Ekadashi(K) Indira Ekadashi(K)
20 October (Saturday) Parsva Ekadashi(S) Parsva Ekadashi(S)
03 November (Saturday) Rama Ekadashi(K) Rama Ekadashi(K)
19 November (Monday) Papankusha Ekadashi(S) Papankusha Ekadashi(S)
03 December (Monday) Utpanna Ekadashi(K) Utpanna Ekadashi(K)
19 December (Wednesday) Devutthana Ekadashi(S) Devutthana Ekadashi(S)

© 2018 - Gajanan Astrology - All Rights Reserved